Information

banner

Biography

Graduate of the University Institute of Technology in Computer Engineering and of the École Supérieure d’Art d’Aix-en-Provence, Tomek Jarolim is a visual artist and interaction designer. His installations question the status of the viewer, and the viewable itself, through research on the digital light and the color of the pixel. In 2008, it presents Shades of white, a contemporary dance piece created with Bruno Péré, within the framework of Ballet Preljocaj « Les Affluents » Festival. Award winner of the FACE Grant (French american cultural exchange), he goes to the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where he focuses on a sound piece, Ut Queant Laxis, which will be choreographed by beth jucovy for « Innovation in Dance » Festival in New York.

In 2009, he exhibits Invisible at the 14th Young Artists Biennial in Skopje, which explore a more sensitive work that he follows at Diip/EnsadLab, a research programme of the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs. He develops research on interactive lights, especially with The Eyes Closed and diffraction, presented in Fabfest 2012, at La Gaîté Lyrique.

Tomek Jarolim continues his lighting explorations, through various residencies : the light of the stars in a residency at the Observatory of Haute Provence / CNRS, and traditional and digital theatrical lights at the Agora Theater – Scene Nationale d’Evry de de l’Essonne.

Meanwhile, he works on projects such as Augmented Window by Thierry Fournier at Centre Pompidou, Discontrol Party by Samuel Bianchini at La Gaîté Lyrique or Browse by Motion of the Institute of Research and Innovation of Centre Pompidou (IRI) with Thierry de Mey within the framwork of Futur-en-Seine. In 2011, he signs the digital creation of Ring Saga, an opera staged by Antoine Gindt according to Wagner’s The Ring of the Nibelung, a project for which he also works on a « rêverie » entitled Wanderer Postscript.

Since 2015, he joins the Orbe team as an art director and designer, and works on various projects within the domain of research of the agency : mobility, cartography, interface design and sound situated apps.

Curriculum vitae :

Informations

banner

Biographie

Diplômé de l’Institut Universitaire de Technologie en Génie Informatique et de l’École Supérieure d’Art d’Aix-en-Provence, Tomek Jarolim est artiste plasticien et designer d’interaction. Ses installations interrogent tant le statut du regardeur que le regardable lui-même, à travers une recherche sur la lumière numérique et la couleur du pixel. En 2008, il présente Shades of White, une création de danse contemporaine conçue avec Bruno Péré dans le cadre du festival « Les Affluents » du Ballet Preljocaj. Lauréat de la bourse FACE (French American Cultural Exchange), il part à la School of the Art Institute à Chicago, où il se concentre sur un travail sonore, Ut Queant Laxis, qui sera chorégraphié par Beth Jucovy pour le festival « Innovation in Dance » à New York.

En 2009, il expose Invisibles à la 14e Biennale des Jeunes Créateurs à Skopje qui lui permet d’aborder un travail plus sensoriel qu’il poursuit au sein du programme Diip d’EnsadLab, laboratoire de recherche des Arts Décos. Il y développe des recherches concernant les lumières interactives, notamment avec Fermer les Yeux et Diffraction, présentés lors du Fabfest 2012 à la Gaîté Lyrique.

Tomek Jarolim continue ses explorations quant aux lumières, à travers diverses résidences : lumière des étoiles dans le cadre une résidence à l’Observatoire de Haute Provence/CNRS, et lumières numérique, traditionnelle ou théatrale au Théâtre de l’Agora – Scène Nationale d’Évry et de l’Essonne.

Parallèlement, il collabore à des projets tels que Fenêtre Augmentée de Thierry Fournier au Centre Pompidou, Discontrol Party de Samuel Bianchini à la Gaîté Lyrique ou Browse by Motion de l’Institut de Recherche et d’Innovation du Centre Pompidou (IRI) avec Thierry de Mey dans le cadre de Futur-en-Seine. En 2011, il signe la création numérique de Ring Saga, opéra mis en scène par Antoine Gindt d’après l’Anneau du Nibelung de Wagner, projet pour lequel il travaille également sur une « rêverie » intitulée Wanderer Post-Scriptum.

Depuis 2015, il rejoint l’équipe de Orbe en tant que directeur artistique et designer, et travaille sur différents projets portant sur les domaines de recherche de l’agence : mobilité, cartographie, design d’interface et application de sons situés.

Curriculum vitae